Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Monday, August 20, 2007
DUDE.. 
like nobody reads now?

Adrian  # 3:14 PM
|

 

Wednesday, August 16, 2006
I want my books back!!! 
I don't know whether anyone still reads this blog, but I'm hoping to get back the books I lent out at the previous book swap meets. I can't remember whom I lent them to, nor what titles I lent, but in particular I would like to get back The Time Traveller's Wife and my Calvin & Hobbes comic book.

I also have books to return.

Please get in touch with me via email if you have any of my books or if I have any of yours. Thank you so much :)


irene
www.ireneQ.com

Sunflower  # 12:16 AM
|

 

Thursday, November 10, 2005
inkyhands.net: a malaysian online litmag 
(So this isn't a book review.... but it's the next best thing :) )

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us



Some friends and I created inkyhands magazine (http://www.inkyhands.net), an online Malaysian litmag which features fiction and creative non-fiction writing, and "hopes to showcase the best that Malaysian writers (of ages 14-24) have to offer."

We have a temporary website up for everyone to submit their work online.

Meanwhile, though, we really need (read: desperate for) submissions for our first issue, which is scheduled to be published in early December 2005. Quick, sift through the Word documents on your computer, and choose some of the best ones!

(Does this sound too much like begging? lol)

Submit something to InkyHands! Or if you don't write "fiction or creative non-fiction" (which is what we publish), or if you are too busy with NaNoWriMo, link us to your blog. Post an entry dedicated entirely to InkyHands.

And if you can't submit this month, there's always the next month (hopefully), and the next, and the next, and the next - subscribe to our mailing list for updates!

I even designed a very cute and simple banner for linking purposes. What more encouragement do you need? :)

The banner is hosted at: http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/489/inkyhands4rz.gif
Thanks for your support!

Elizabeth  # 7:44 AM
|

 

Tuesday, October 11, 2005
bet you didn't know we had this one too... 
Siao... I got so excited... for nothing. =/
mylib is the pilot project of the proposed larger National Digital Library Initiative. As part of the MSC initiative, it is intended to promote the economical and efficient delivery of information and knowledge to all levels of the Malaysian society in line with our quest to become a knowledge society. Most importantly, this portal aims to provide more local content on the net.
Uhm.. oky.

Priscilla  # 7:50 AM
|

 

Saturday, October 08, 2005
National Reading Promotion Program 
The Secretariat For The National Reading Promotion Committee comprises of members such as the following :-

1. The Hon. Minister of Education Malaysia
2. Director General National Library of Malaysia
3. Director General Ministry of Education Malaysia/Malaysian National Book Council Chairman
4. The Hon. Chairman Reading Promotion Committee of Negeri Sembilan
5. The Hon. Chairman Reading Promotion Committee of Pahang
6. The Hon. Chairman Reading Promotion Committee of Perak
7. The Hon. Chairman Reading Promotion Committee of Perlis
I bet no one knew there was a National Reading Promotion Program. Or (scroll down) a National Reading Association.

Priscilla  # 7:25 PM
|

 

Thursday, September 22, 2005
MPH Readers' Circle Members' SALE 
An excerpt of the e-mail I received. Can't find it anywhere on the website though.

Exclusive Members' SALE
for MPH Readers' Circle Members


Duration: 28 September - 2 October 2005
OFFERS:
  • 15%* off on books
  • 10%* off on CDs, Cassettes, Stationery, Cards and Gifts.
*except items already on offer or promotion, value buys, newspaper , magazines & agent controlled items


;)

graceshu  # 10:42 AM
|

 

Sunday, September 11, 2005
Idiot Nation by Michael Moore 
Image hosted by Photobucket.comBeing a generation that survived the dusty gloom of 9/11 news replays and having household phrases 'terrorism' and 'weapons of mass destruction' roll smoothly off our tongues like grandma's kangkung sambal belacan, almost anyone can claim to whet an equally appetizing opinion against our favourite shrub (low-growing, native texan, with many branches, [ref: dictionary.com]). But almost no one else throws the punches with as much explosive sarcasm and presentation as Michael Moore.

After delivering the succession of blows - Bowling (2002), Stupid White Men (2002), Farenheit 9/11 (2004) - our favourite media/sociopolitical activist continues to pummel the Bush administration with this slim 55-paged Penguin Special, Idiot Nation (ISBN: 0-141-02234-5, RM9.90, MPH).

As with all classic documentary-styled Moore creations, he sets the premise by challenging the reader with rhetorical questions, mocking and criticising you if you didn't know better. Switching gears, he snakes through a hiss of statistics and personal encounters, swipes sarcastically at mega corporations and policy makers, and chuckles in disbelief at the idiocy of the fleeced meek herd. Then, striding in leather-strapped sandals, our savior unearthes conspiracies and debunks myths, cued with collective gasps in the background.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Read excerpts from 'Are you a Potential School Shooter?'

Suckled by mothers of cynics and conspiracy theorists, I wouldn't think that we (or rather, they - the Americans) are strangers to the ideas presented in Idiot Nation. However, with Michael's provocative reader-involvement formula, the experience has us sufficiently mocked, humiliated, outraged, consoled, comforted, and empowered all at once. I think it is perhaps this dramatic fulfillment and entertainment that proved most attractive. A very engaging short read at a very affordable price :)

graceshu  # 8:44 PM
|

 

Tuesday, August 30, 2005
Eating Chinese Food Naked by Mei Ng 
Title: Eating Chinese Food Naked, by Mei Ng
ISBN: 0684-81416-1
Pay Less Books: RM10.00

The initial disappointment could start with the deceptive title - if your expectations bordered at oriental food-fetish erotica. Then, perhaps doubled if you had braced yourself for an Amy Tan experience (Ref: Joy Luck Club, etc). I take this opportunity to warn you against both expectations, but do give this book a chance if your unrefined literary tastes embark on occasional flirtations with lab rats - it appears to be an (experimental?) acquired taste.

Our protagonist Ruby Lee finds herself broke and jobless one summer, and reluctantly resigned herself to staying with her parents in Queens behind their laundry shop. Her parents accept her prodigal return with unspoken but obvious disppointment while her siblings exhibit a degree of indifference. Now, forced to return to an identity and a family she tried escaping from, she provokes friction and threatens the seeming calmness her family adopted in her absence.

While that might not seem like much of a plot, Mei also weaved into this journey several contemplative bits that I could relate to personally, especially Ruby's frustration and restlessness in being unemployed and temping. Reading certain paragraphs proved to be a test of patience. I sunk into a listless desperation, hating the repetitive rambling and restlessness that almost echoed my own.

I sought brief consolation when Mei sneaked brief respite from the protagonist's narration with insightful monologues and historical recounting from Ruby's parents, siblings, and boyfriend. The struggles and dilemmas are quite common of all relationship dynamics. One worth mentioning would be her brief break up with her boyfriend following a hesitated encounter with a lesbian - perhaps worthy of comparison with a scene from Saving Face (Alice Wu).

While Mei's approach and storyline is somewhat similar to Amy's (although not at par with Amy's fluidity or eloquence), she has an engaging (if inconsistent, argh!) writing style of her own. Admittedly, Mei Ng's debut effort certainly proves that she has much potential. But it is unfortunate that this experience left a very tart and irritable sting on my palate - I should have hesitated three times before picking (yet) another novel on the asian-american cultural/personal struggle with identity/family/etc.

A friend wondered aloud if it were a curse: that contemporary Asian (English language) writers of oriental ethnicity cannot escape writing a novel without adopting formularic Amy-Tan plots? We hope that our wait is worth the bated breath for someone to prove it otherwise. (I have meanwhile invested in another comb of bananas to replenish my diminished stock of serotonin. )

Priscilla  # 5:50 PM
|

 

Sunday, August 28, 2005
The Merdeka Book Swap Meet 
Feasting on Giotto Chocolates: aliya, Grace & Priscilla (in spirit), Chooki, xXx, Yee Pei, camlok, Dave, Danny and Ted.

While fondly thinking of: Ryuu, Chiq, Nicholas, Adrian, Khalilur, April and Irene.

Other observations: Perhaps would be wiser to utilize the wiki list fully (next time) to not bloat/ dissapoint expectations :P


Mark your calenders!: Nov 13 2005 - Hari Raya Book Swap Meet (Makan)! Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Have a pleasant (Merdeka) week ahead! ;)

Priscilla  # 11:46 PM
|

 

Saturday, August 27, 2005
wah! TIMES BOOKSTORE WAREHOSE SALE (27th - 30th Aug 2005) 
Announcement leh: TIMES BOOKSTORE STOCK CLEARANCE
Date: 27th - 30th Aug 2005
Time: 10am - 7pm
Venue: No. 4, Jalan 13/4, 46200, Petaling Jaya (Behind Colgate-Palmolive)

What a nasty shock to find out over breakfast of the Times Bookstore Warehouse Sale starting today without my knowing it! Argh. In my excitement, terus keluar grade-A manglish and assorted choice hokkien phrases. So anden I went online, but couldn't find any information. So afterdat I quickly check with the wise itchymicchi (IM) for confirmation.
GS: EH GOT TIMES BOOKSTORE WAREHSE SALE AH?
IM: Got la! I just saw in d papers! Today first day! Maybe d first 50 visitors get free books! :D
GS: Eh I no marnee now lah. What's with the surprises!? I lemah jantung la! When/where?
IM: D same place as d last one la. Section 13 that side. [link]
GS: eh until when la
IM: Till Merdeka. U could rob a bank!
GS: OMG I JUST MIGHT
Happy shopping lah, aiyo! :D!

graceshu  # 12:50 PM
|