Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Tuesday, January 27, 2004
The Cluetrain Manifesto, a review frm Playtpus Lair 
The Cluetrain Manifesto by Christopher Locke, Rick Levine, Doc Searls, David Weinberger
Source: Platypus Lair
One of those books that make you go "Whoah !!" after reading it. I consider this book a must for anyone who considers the internet an important part of their lives or those who are considering making web applications development their living.

It doesn't really go into techie-mechie zone but rather delves in the realm of laymaness with easy to understand phrases that anyone who has at least used IE or mozilla to check their daily Yahoo mail will understand. A towering piece this one !


Head over to Platypus Lair for more!

graceshu  # 11:08 PM
|

 

The Books That Matter 
A very useful list I came across, with its own symbolic legend to describe its degree of er. "matter-able" [pardon my sentence structure & vocab, havent been sleeping well]. This recommended reading list for various disciplines is taken from the Sept 2003 issue of Business 2.0. I thought it was particularly useful to reproduce it since you need to subscribe to read the article in the website..
Legend: Ac - Academic, In - Insider, BB - Bad Behavior, Mo - Manifesto, BI - Big Ideas, FS - Failure Stories, AR - Good Airplane Reading, DR - Dense Reading, !! - Use With Caution, SS - Success Stories, Fi - Fiction, Cl - Classic, CS - Contains Case Studies, HP - Historical Perspective, PC - Poignant Critique

Pillars of Capitalism
The Wealth of Nations , Adam Smith (1776) - Cl,DR
Capitalism, Socialism and Democracy , Jospeh A. Schumpeter(1942) - BI,Ac,DR
The Affluent Society , John Kenneth Galbaraith (1958) - BI,Ac,PC
Capitalism and Freedom , Milton Friedman (1962) - BI,Mo,Cl

Management
The Principles of Scientific Management , Federick W. Taylor (1911) - !!,Cl
The Practice of Management , Peter F. Drucker 1954) - Cl,Ac
My Years With General Motors , Alfred P. Sloan (1963) - In,SS,CS
The Fifth Discipline , Peter M. Senge (1990) - Ac,BI

Strategy
The Art of War, Sun Tzu (c. 300 BC) - !!,Cl
Competitive Strategy , Michael Porter (1980) - Ac,DR,Cl
Built to Last , Jim Collins and Jerry I. Porras(1994) - CS,SS
Banvard's Folly , Paul Collins (2001) - FS,CS,AR

Innovation
The Structure of Scientific Revolutions , Thomas S Kuhn (1962) - Cl,BI,DR
The Disney Version , Richard Schikel (1968) - SS,CS,PC
The Double Helix , James D. Watson(1968) - SS,BI
The Innovator's Dilemma, Clayton M. Christensen (1997) - BI,FS,CS''

Leadership
The Manual , Epictetus (1st Century AD) - BI,AR
The Prince , Niccolo Machiavelli (1513) - Cl,!!,Mo
Moby-Dick , Herman Melville (1851) - Fi,DR,BB,FS
Shackleton's Way , Margot Morrell and Stephanie Capparell (2001) - SS,AR
The Change Makers , Maury Klein (2003) - CS,SS,HP

Marketing
The Theory of the Leisure Class , Thorstein Veblen - Cl,BI,DR
Ogilvy and Advertising , David Ogilvy (1983) - SS,Cl,CS
PR! , Staurt Ewen (1996) - HP,AR
The Cluetrain Manifesto , Rick Levine, Christopher Locke, Doc Searls and David Weinberger (2000) - Mo,!!
No Logo , Noami Klein (1999) - PC,Mo
The Tipping Point , Malcolm Gladwell (2000) - Cl,BI,SS

Investing
The Intelligent Investor , Benjamin Graham (1949) - Cl,BI
A Random Walk Down Wall Street , Burton G. Malkiel (1973) - AR,PC
What Works on Wall Street , James P. O'Shaughnessy (1996) - Ac,HP

Booms and Busts
Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds , Charles Mackay (1841) - Cl,BI,DR
Manias, Panics and Crashes , Charles P. Kindleberger (1978) - Ac,DR,HP
Dot.con , John Cassidy (2002) - FS,BB
Extravagance , Gary Krist (2002) - Fi,HP,BB

The Business of Technology
The Mythical Man-Month , Frederick P. Brooks Jr. (1975) - FS,CS,Cl
The Soul of a New Machine , Tracy Kidder (1981) - CS,In,BI
Fire in the Valley , Paul Freiberger and Michael Swaine (1984) - CS,BI,HP,AR
Perfect Store: Inside eBay , Adam Cohen (2002) - SS,CS

Greed
Liar's Poker , Michael Lewis (1989) - BB,AR,In,Cl
Babarians at the Gate , Bryan Burrough and John Helyar (1990) - BB,FS,In
Bombardiers , Po Bronson (1995) - AR,Fi,BB
Cosmopolis , Don Delillo (2003) - Fi,BI

Working Life
Seize the Day , Saul Bellow (1956) - Fi,PC Read Review
Working , Studs Terkel (1972) - Cl,HP
Nikel and Dimed , Barbara Ehrenreich (2001) - In,PC

Biography
Citizen Hearst , W.A. Swanberg (1961) - Cl,HP,BB
Dossier , Edward Jay Epstein (1996) - BB,HP
Carnegie , Peter Krass (2002) - SS,AR
Wheels for the World , Douglas Brinkley (2003) - SS,!!,HP

Envisioning the Future
The Foundation Tilogy , Isaac Asimov (1951-1953) - Fi,PC
Neuromancer , William Gibson (1984) - Fi,Cl,AR
Snow Crash , Neal Stephenson (1992) - Fi,AR Read Review
Smart Mobs , Howard Gheingold (2002) - BI,PC
Actually, I've read only three of the above books, and you can read the book reviews of Snow Crash & Seize The Day made by contributors Adrian and Chooki. Anyone else read any of these 54 books? Suggestions, opinions, discussions, reviews & comments welcomed.

graceshu  # 7:05 PM
|

 

Reviews Frm The Meesh Experience 
Meesh blogs about several books she read in her boredom, including Vernon God Little (DBC Pierre), The Baghdad Blog (Salam Pax), Gabriel's Gift (Hanif Kureishi), 1984 (George Orwell), A Fortress of Solitude (Jonathan Lethem), as well as Good Omens (Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachett). Here's what she has to say about them.
Vernon God Little is a Booker Prize winner for 2003, and since I started on Rohinton Mistry, I'm telling you Booker Prize winners are not rubbish, they are very engaging. Chai Yen says that it's hilariously funny, there's a lot of swearing and there's been many a time I find her sitting in a chair laughing to herself. So it must be good. And it's also reminiscent of the Catcher in Rye, so if you liked that, you'd like this.

The Salam Pax book is a really good read. It's the archives and stuff compiled into a book, it's amazing to note someone else's lifestyle somewhere across the globe for one, someone who is also writing about his country being in war makes it an even more interesting read. But it's not just interesting. It makes you think. This is after all, real. If you've always wanted to know about Iraq, this the closest I think, besides actually being there. He's a huge fan of Massive Attack, mentions Malaysia and our tendency to piracy (!), his feelings about the war, Saddam, the war, America, and my personal favorite, the silly human shields.

Hanif Kureishi is almost a household name among some circles I travel with, it's my first book by him and it's about divorce, dysfunctionality, and a boy with powers! So a meesh book.

1984 needs to introduction I think, it's something everyone's possibly heard about. I know I have. Don't know if it's because I'm a communication student, but I think it's a good read.

Jonathan Lethem comes highly recommended by Winnie, we'd been trying to get his other novel, Motherless Brooklyn which apprently amazing! But Kinokuniya is sold out, so you can order it, and it reaches in 2 weeks. Alternatively they do have As She Climbed Across the Table and Fortress of Solitude which I have.

Finally, thanks to Emully's kindness I also have this classic, something everyone must read since it's the equivalent of Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy's little brother! Good Omen is also something you must read if you enjoyed Gaiman's American Gods.
Meesh blogs of insightful & witty experiences of her life in The Meesh Experience, and is also a reviewer for The Book Review Blog. She also writes in Suara Malaysia. She is currently pursuing a degree in mass-communication in a local college, and is based in the Klang Valley.

graceshu  # 1:16 PM
|

 

Christine Sparks - The Elephant Man 

The Elephant Man
Christine Sparks

I associated freaks with elephants after watching this show on tv when I was young, being the impressionable kid I was then, which resulted in my healthy disinclination for even cutesy animated Elephas maximus characters on tv, like the one of a little, orphaned elephant that became king of the elephants - Barbar The Elephant.

Reading this real life story of Joseph Merrick a dozen years later, I am humbled by his will, courage and determination to be educated even with the public contempt and stigma his unfortunate disfigurement brought. Joseph apparently suffered frm Proteus Syndrome, a condition which involves atypical growth of the bones, skin, head, and a variety of other symptoms. Joseph had a misshapen head due to an extreme overgrowth of bone in his skull and the right side of his body. He was thrown out of the house by his step-mother, sold shoe-black in the streets, paraded in a Victorian circus freakshow, but was later rescued by Surgeon Frederick Treves. After several appearances to the medical community, he becomes somewhat of a celebrated medical observation, and then is well cared for. However, it is his struggle for survival, the never-ending quest for knowledge and thirst for genuine human relationship that makes the book worth reading.

If you are interested in reading this extraordinary story of courage and human dignity, look out for the Book Swap Meet III on March 7th.


graceshu  # 5:17 AM
|

 

Some Teasers 
Please pardon the lack of updates am suffering frm an affliction commonly known as "Other Commitments". I also know am starting to sound like a broken record and am equally sorry & dissapointed abt it myself, but yeah the BlogMyBook.Org is still under construction. Coming up next, Dickens - Bleak House; Christine Sparks - The Elephant Man; Jung Chang - Wild Swans; as well as pictures & reviews of the Book Swap Meet I and II ;D I'll be posting up these entries [if somewhat scattered] sometime this week[end?] or something like that.

The Book Swap Meet III? Tentatively on March 7th 2004, Sunday.

graceshu  # 4:03 AM
|