Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Tuesday, February 10, 2004
Totally unrelated, but.. 
I am urged to share this with you my beautiful friends. I find grouphug.us totally addictive ;) Go ahead and Click It and you can thank me later on kthxbais.

graceshu  # 6:48 PM
|

 

The Hottest State - Ethan Hawke  
This book was given to me when i was in school.It was from a good friend of mine because she knew that the author - Ethan Hawke is my favourite actor. ( isn't he cute in Reality Bites? )

Ethan Hawke's The Hottest State takes the reader on a journey through the eyes of William, a starving actor, whose cares are superficial and intentions are pure, but like always, a girl named Sarah would change him. The Hottest State takes a look inside a tumultuous relationship that had high hopes.

For his first novel, Hawke elaborately writes of women's external and internal beauty. He puts the reader into the mind of a boy who, with one woman, turns into a man. With a mind that jumps from external looks to inner darkness, the tortured spirit of William connects with both men and women readers.

Hawke does such a fine job of examining the thoughts and actions of the human psyche. There were so many times when I both empathized with William and felt a little like him. Who knew so much talent lies in this creative actor. With each line, Hawke will open your mind to a new way of thinking. The reading may be easy, but the book is thought provoking.

Anyone who reads The Hottest State will encounter a writer who can charm, dazzle, and break the heart in a single paragraph.

why not u guys give it a try reading it ?

pringgadhani  # 12:20 PM
|

 

Monday, February 09, 2004
Seraut Kasih - Ruhana Md Zaki 
The book that I had been reading only before I sleep. And boy, do i take awhile to finish it. Heh! And yes, it was a good book. Even though, i was unfamiliar with the author (might be a new writer; i couldn't find her name anywhere on the net. Even the publisher - Diwangsa Publications & Distributors seems foreign to me), and i didn't take any likings to her earlier book. The storyline seems a little bit childish (or i'm growing older?), but this Seraut Kasih is far better off.

Suharni Adrina. Her journey to find true love. Met Kay and thought, she had found a gem. But she was wrong. She was caught between love and her desire. And the pages dictate her ups and downs in searching for her real, true love. For her knight in shining armour.

But still, i don't feel comfortable with the way the story goes. Aren't you supposed to always end up with the person you are so much in love with? Or that is just a mitos? Heh! Anyway, read this book. It has a good a pretty good taste of sweet and sour that goes with it.

kiezamy  # 10:29 PM
|

 

Jemima J by Jane Green  





The cover and the tittle of this book look familiar to me.I think i used to saw it at the bookstores during the old days but don't bother to read it till got a copy from Ted during the previous Book Swap Meet and since then, i'm totally addicted to Jane Green's books.

Jemima Jones is overweight. About one hundred pounds overweight. Treated like a maid by her thin and social-climbing bimbo roommates, and lorded over by the beautiful Geraldine (less talented but better paid) at the Kilburn Herald, Jemima finds that her only consolation is food. (similiar to mine..i think)

Add to this her passion for her charming, sexy, and unobtainable colleague Ben, and Jemima knows her life is in need of a serious change. When she meets Brad, an eligible California hunk, over the Internet, ( is there any eligible cute guys over the chat room ? can't seem to find one :P ) she has the perfect opportunity to reinvent herself , as JJ, the slim, beautiful, gym-obsessed glamour girl. But when her long-distance Romeo demands that they meet, she must conquer her food addiction to become the bone-thin model of her e-mails - no small feat.

With a fast-paced plot that never quits and a surprise ending no reader will see coming, Jemima J is the chronicle of one woman's quest to become the woman she's always wanted to be, learning along the way a host of lessons about attraction, addiction, the meaning of true love, and, ultimately, who she really is.

ermm..what happened next ? who is her so called TRUE LOVE ? Ben or Brad ?

I guess you have to find out yourself when you read this book and i bet u'll love it as i really enjoyed reading it.Jemima J somehow someway inspired me to go on diet with healthy food and start on my exercise plans that i've been wanting to do for the past few months.*kwang kwang kwang*

Well.. grab this copy from Ted on the next Book Swap Meet :)







pringgadhani  # 12:05 PM
|

 

Piccolo Mondo, 19 Oct 2003 

Am well aware that these pictures might've expired and befriended green fungus by now, but since am up at five beautiful ay yem, might as well put them up for public viewing. On Oct 19 2003, moderators and core members of the bookreviewblog met up at Piccolo Mondo, sunway Pyramid, for a brief discussion over dinner & buka puasa. Objective, goals, and plans were discussed and drawn out, as wanted to assure that the bookreviewblog wouldnt die a nice slow death within two months. Well its been four months now, so I guess we're somewhere ;)

I guess a nice slow death is inevitable, or is it? Anyway, my other commitments take precedence over this, but yeah shall try to salvage of what we have. But no this blog won't die off if I can help it, partly because if no one else blogs reviews, I'll do so myself until the end of my nice sorry life ;D Hehehe yeah anyway, I've commited to make at least one entry per week, and if theres at least five of us who sticks to this, this place shall still be nice and merry. And if you're wondering how to submit a review without being a blogger or owning a blogger account, please send them to thebookreviewblog@yahoo.com.

But yeah, we were graced by the presence of Chooki, Wena, Vlad, Dave, Khalil, Hani, as well as a brief hello-bye from Justine.


graceshu  # 5:36 AM
|

 

So I've been reading alot. Is this an indication of needing a life? 

I need to go out more

Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell
Was a thought provoking & amusing read. I've caught myself reflecting on how he prophetically wrote on the changes in the global social and political climate, or perhaps it was only an expected consequence with the normal sequence of events in our civilization? I was particularly intrigued w newspeak, oldspeak, as well as the slogan of INGSOC - War Is Peace, Freedom Is Slavery, Ignorance Is Strength.

Daughters Of Arabia by Jean Sasson
Is a true narration of female oppression and freedom in the life of an Arabian princess as told to the author, Jean Sasson. Am somewhat familiar w the Islamic practices such as the hijrah, and of certain social and political seasoning that's somewhat similar to Betty Mahmoody & William Hoffer's (Not Without My Daughter), but was really not aware that the female circumcision could be that nightmarish. Also had heightened awareness that Saudi Arabians are obscenely rich and might marry one one day.

Collected Short Stories by William Somerset Maugham
A collection of short stories penned by the well traveled William Somerset Maugham. Littered with the typical dry British humor, Maugham is witty, sardonic, even tragic at times, my favorite stories would be A String Of Beads, Three Fat Women of Antibes, Appearance and Reality, and Gigolo and Gigolette, among others. Great reading for those with a short attention span.

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman
This is one of the books that both Jason & I loved, so it has to count for something, since we're of both very contrasting characters. Depicting the Armageddon in tongue-in-cheek manner, Pratchett (Discworld fame) and Gaiman (American Gods) offered me countless hours of audible laughter streaming between gaps under toilet doors and questions regarding my sanity. This is perhaps my first encounter with a fantasy novel that I've really really loved.

Airframe, Eaters Of The Dead both by Michael Crichton
I'm humbled. I'm a convert. Please show me his altar so that I can make offerings of tea, sing hymns of praise and proposals of marriage.

The Prince by Niccolo Machiavelli
One must be a fox in order to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten off wolves. With many references and studies to historical figures, governments, and analytical dissections of human behavior, am enlightened of his theories of statecraftship and political tactics that should theoretically work in real life. I read this book while simultaneously relating the concepts and principles here with the current political climate we're experiencing globally / nation-wide. I think a few local politicians could pick up a trick or two from this book.

Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder
Who are you? Where does the world come from? Captivating, provocating and interesting read, demands attention and many a cup of good hot tea. A storybook of philosophy as experience by little Sophie through correspondence with a mysterious philosopher. Am running out of adjectives, but yeah it's Brilliant and worth re-reading over and over again.

The Bonesetter's Daughter by Amy Tan
Yet another Amy Tan book. Am somewhat conditioned to stories by Asian writers of oppression, hardship, complex family politics, and the like. At least this one had big letters. True to the typical Amy Tannish books, this one is also brilliantly written, heartwarming, and all that jazz. I think I grew up on too much Han Suyin. Yawn.

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark
Give me a girl at an impressionable age, and she is mine for life. Do not be deceived by this slim book with a seemingly typical chick-book cover. It's no chick book. It's a book of how much influence educators have over young and impressionable minds. Slightly draggy towards the end though. Couldn't help but start wishing that the story would end asap.

The Clue of The Dancing Puppet, a Nancy Drew Mystery by Carolyn Keene
Okay, so I was bored. But Nancy Drews, Enid Blytons and the like still amuse me when am bored, as it has when I was six.

More for grabs on March 7th on the next Book Swap Meet - House Of The Winds (Mia Yun), Bleak House (Charles Dickens), Man And Boy (Tony Parsons), The Elephant Man (Christin Sparks), Wild Swans (June Chang). Please pity me and not let the bookreviewblog die a nice slow death.

Sorry abt the guilt thing. I think it's the lack of sleep. But yeah. =D No nice slow death pls kthxbais.

graceshu  # 4:55 AM
|

 

Nice ~ Jen Sacks 



Title : Nice
Author : Jen Sacks


Now, what do you when you read an interesting book review in the newspaper, only to find that it is out of print online?!? Ah well. I guess one just have to go downtown to the bookstore and see whether there are still copies of the book available there.

Yahya Iskandar has been writing movie and film reviews for Sarawak Tribune for a long time now. It is always interesting to see what he has to say about what he watches or reads. Very witty and insightful, it's been a long time since someone actually wrote like this. Humour abounds in his articles and they all penned in an interesting manner that leaves one sitting on the edge. Well, not quite the impact as a horror movie that you'll get the gist of it.

As for the book, go and click on the link above to check out what he says about it. His column appears in the Outlook section of the newspaper.


Wena Tan  # 3:45 AM
|