Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Friday, March 05, 2004
The Perfect Summer (LuAnne Rice) 
I found this book at the Romance section of an MPH bookstore, so my first impression of this book was that it would surely be about romantic love.

But I was surprised as I read it, I realized that it wasn't really about romantic love, after all. This novel centers on many other issues, such as family relationships, friendship, and most importantly, sisterhood. What makes this book a good read is how the writer explains each character. One character that I think is really interesting in the book is Eliza. Eventhough she isn't the main character in this novel, I was made to understand how difficult her life is and how she goes through with it. Maybe it's personal to me, after all. She struggles through issues such as anorexia, self-injury, and has a difficult-to-deal-with personality. But I can't help but sympathize with her. The main character of this novel, Bay, is described vividly. The most interesting thing about this novel is how the characters of this book are brought together and linked together in a perfect ending. Thus, the perfect summer.

This is a great book about how betrayal and greed can turn people we know into different people. And how love and friendship can help people pull through the hardest of times. All in all, it is a great book and I would really recommend it. Only advice is, don't expect lovey-dovey stuff even though it is located in the Romance section.

Reviewed by raZZbeRRy

graceshu  # 11:11 PM
|

 

BookReview.Com 
BookReview.Com is competition!

;(

graceshu  # 4:32 AM
|

 

Thursday, March 04, 2004
Times Bookstore Discounts, 4/3/2004 [25%]; 5- 7/3/2004 [20%] 


Thanks for the pointer aLiya!

EDIT: Outlets in Malaysia:

Times The Bookshop
Unit 130, 1st Floor, Penang Plaza,
126, Burmah Road,
10050, Penang
Malaysia
Tel : 604-2264576
Email : mph@po.jaring.my
Retail Bookshop

Times The Bookshop
Lot 8-2, 2nd Floor, Bangsar Shopping Centre
Jalan Maarof, Bukit Bandaraya
59000
Malaysia
Tel : 603-20953509
Fax : 603-20953511
Retail Bookshop

Times The Bookshop
F2 18/19 Sunway Pyramid,
3, Jalan PSJ 11/15,
Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya
46150
Malaysia
Tel : 603-74922683
Fax : 603-74920968
Retail Bookshop

Times The Bookshop (KLCC)
316B Level 3 Suria KLCC
Kuala Lumpur City Center
50088 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel : 603-23829098
PRO-SHOP

Times The Bookshop (SPY)
F2 18/19 Sunway Pyramid
3 Jalan PJS 11/15
Bandar Sunway
46150 Petaling Jaya
Malaysia
Tel : 603-74923683
Fax : 603-74920968
retail bookshop

Times The Bookshop
Unit 130, 1st Floor, Penang Plaza,
126, Burmah Road,
10050, Penang
Malaysia
Tel : 604-2264576
Email : mph@po.jaring.my
Retail Bookshop

Times The Bookshop
Lot 8-2, 2nd Floor, Bangsar Shopping Centre
Jalan Maarof, Bukit Bandaraya
59000
Malaysia
Tel : 603-20953509
Fax : 603-20953511
Retail Bookshop

Times The Bookshop
F2 18/19 Sunway Pyramid,
3, Jalan PSJ 11/15,
Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya
46150
Malaysia
Tel : 603-74922683
Fax : 603-74920968
Retail Bookshop

Times The Bookshop (KLCC)
316B Level 3 Suria KLCC
Kuala Lumpur City Center
50088 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia
Tel : 603-23829098
PRO-SHOP

Times The Bookshop (SPY)
F2 18/19 Sunway Pyramid
3 Jalan PJS 11/15
Bandar Sunway
46150 Petaling Jaya
Malaysia
Tel : 603-74923683
Fax : 603-74920968
retail bookshop

graceshu  # 4:52 PM
|

 

Tuesday, March 02, 2004
Travelling Malaysia Feat. Sarawak Alive - Book Reviews & Literature On Folklore 
While enthusiastically planning for my trip to East Malaysia [both Sabah & Sarawak], I came across an online travelling guide - Sarawak Alive with several book reviews, including
all of which were, interestingly, written by gwailos. I reckon it would've been so anyway, as its expected of an outsider to report in relatively rather unbiased and objective manner when experiencing a new environment - I think the W. Somerset Maugham appeal is appreciated more than locals whining abt the local municipal council instead =P.

All pride is not lost though, as Malaysia redeems herself w great local photographers - pa has this coffee-table book with interesting photo-stories in it, something of Borneo, which proved to be quite enchanting indeed. [I regret to report that my memory isnt as enchanting though, I dont remember the title =P] Anyway, I might just look out for one of these when visiting my nearest friendly bookstore, and also if I have enough money left after spending on an entire Laura Ingalls [don't ask pls] series for [heh!] sentimental [bah!] purposes.

Also worth noting is the Borneo Literature Bureau. The Borneo Literature Bureau operated in the 60s and 70s, publishing stories and folklore contributed by amateur writers in Sarawak. Most of these writers are now respected members of the Sarawakian community or senior government officers. It's all really quite interesting. Go ahead & browse through them.

I've been told though, that the comprehensive Lonely Planet Malaysia, Singapore & Brunei would be quite useful indeed, and I might just grab this one instead, perhaps sometime this weekend, after the Book Swap Meet and my weekly dose of Slurpee glucose goodness. My travel plans arent confirmed yet though, still have a few issues to solve w parental units [at age [almost] 22! parental consent! imagine that!] as well as synchronization w my busy [shhh. dont repeat this in my face. am in denial.] schedule, what with being in my final year, internship / industrial training and all that.

But Kuala Selangor this Friday is soooo on though ;) I dont have a weblog to boast abt it with pictures anymore ;) but yeah pls be jeles of me as I glide in the dark between berembang trees studded w fireflies flitting around on both sides of the riverbanks!! [Can you tell I'm excited? Huh can you huh can you huh? Well. Yeah.]

Heh. Back to my assignments now before the coffee wears out.

graceshu  # 11:58 PM
|

 

Sunday, February 29, 2004
Sense And Sensibility - Jane Austen 
Having foolishly left my latest bounty from my latest book-shopping expedition at home, I had to resort to re-reading chick-mags at obscene prices I'd purchased during lunch breaks. Now of course these are all good too, since its extremely vital for girls / women to know the 3 signs of unhealthy hair in the event of any premature balding and cries of woe during shampoo sessions. (Ask me later.)

Then, motivated by extreme boredom and procastination, I came across the text-version Jane Austen's Sense & Sensibility on Project Gutenberg. Also available online are several of her other writings. Several books worth noting are: Pride & Prejudice, Lady Susan, Emma, and one of her bests - Persuasion. Ah, with the wonders of technology - what can a self-barricadded hermit like me not enjoy with a nice hot cup of Earl Grey & an internet connection on a Sunday evening?

Now if you'll excuse me, I've got some drying out to do for my contacts before my guilt sets in ;)

graceshu  # 9:45 PM
|