Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Saturday, April 03, 2004
Hi Kids, This Is Your [Bleak] Futchure! Pls Mourn For It KThxBais. & Other Shit. 
Not much activity here, but I met up w techneke (Hi Ken!) to pass him an Adrian Mole yesterday, and am meeting up w some other bloggers seperately in a couple of days more (Hi Irene, Khalilur, Wingman!) to swap books individually... more like... returning books actually... LoL not that I'm like wei finish liao boh faster la why u read so slow one ha buden its more of extending the flow of literature to mah other friends who've heard me liek rave abt omg you should so absolutely read this book its liek omg good shit anden I was liek.. and its liek.. You get the idea.

Books are like ekhspenshive but its good [er.] shit mmmmmmkay. I mean you should like totally spend an entire month's worth of petrol money on liek pieces of pressed wood product binded together w gum and printed with liek fine print that you can squint at when conducting excretious activities in the commode and liek laugh out loud at the funny parts and ma knocks at the door and says. Grace, are you okay? But. No, I dont do that anymore. [Cept sometimes, for textbooks.] [Btw textbooks are liek, expensive too, < RM 60.00 and I dont even touch them cos they've got germs. But I digress.]

And while my purse continues to slim down on its Marie France Bodyline Supreme © diet, my ass expands & flattens exponentially with the continual abuse subjected to it while on sprawled the couch re-reading Adrian Mole for the 2,302,809.75th time and the waist steadily dissapears with my friend Mr. Earl Grey, Sir. and The Respectable Ms. Cookies & Shit. So pls ignore the fat ass pls. Heh.

But yeah. As I was saying. Books are liek, eksphenshive. I reckon if the gov wants to us to mengamalkan tabiat membaca they've gotta like loosen up and give liek us *cough* kids weekly allowances to liek buy books and stuff, and not liek force us to liek, go STUDY, liek yanno, textbooks and adv kalkulus and and shit, cos its different I mean liek, yanno, liek, omg its not ever anywhere near orgasmik when, liek, opening a David Sedaris or a Dave Barry or a, liek, yanno Gaiman, or Crichton, and shit.

Anyway I noticed a trend. Music used to be eksphenshive. Then it became affordable. Then it became free. And now musicians are liek enraged that they're not getting paid, wht with all that intellekshual property & royalties shit. And now you can liek download shit for liek paying them liek a few cents and shit and listen to them while in the commode on your mp3 player. Then magazines. Used to be expensive. Then affordable. Then now free. We have liek, the inerdnet & Al Gore to thank, of course. But even then, liek, NY Times, they say you have to liek, yanno, pay, yanno, to view their arkives. But thats okay cos Google caches stuff anyway ;)

Anden I'm liek thinking liek yanno how there are liek e-books and shit now and its liek everywhere [only certain books], and how books were expensive, now more affordable, and now with the most popular medium there is - inerdnet - will everything be liek, yanno, elektronik and all prefixed with an "e" now? And its liek, babais mr. paper manufekturer sir sorry we dont need you anymore. And everyone will go around with their pdas and pay like 15 cents per 1Mb of data downloaded from reposchitories of liek bookshtores that are reduced to mere touchpad counters you can sync with anden its like tada voila jeng jeng jeng hello yes ma I'm liek studying for my IT Law paper tmrrw when you're liek, yanno, reading liek, yanno, the latest Gaiman on your pda when ma has liek no way of checking bekos the skreen is too small.

I've a feeling its this.

Anyway, people don't need to pay 15 cents to read interesting stuff anymore, theres liek a whole lot of shit out there on the internet, what more with the eksploshiun of self publishing liek yanno, blogs; but I guess the main problem is liek filtering & editing the content cos I guess not everyone wants to know minute details of your bowelusor habits and whinning abt what omg your ex boyflen did that to you fifty years ago? And besides if you need realistik human drama theres always GroupHug.Us. And I'm liek, wondering if authors will bother to write stuff anymore? if they get paid like 15 cents for, say, 1Mb of ASCII-ed text, for all that work?

I shall mourn when it comes to that. Because I've always treasured the speshial moments I've had with books and will commit suicide [imma just joking, relly] when kids start reading aloud to Peter & Jhane on pdas and not liek, yanno, worn and half bitten books with karerful pikchures of Pat the dog.

And in the event of a lethal virus wiping out all elektronik systems or aliens paralyzing our power system and with no backups nor lifelong Energizer batteries and having to hide in caves and live liek, yanno, in the Stone Age, there'll be no way to pass on all that schweet memories and knowledge of Adv Kalkulus [yeah I admit its liek, important, but just not orgasmik enough] or stories of Peteh The Rabbit or Enid Blyton Shit, I guess the human race will die off just slowly because no one knows how to write anymore. And we'd all be liek all unsexy shortsighted blobs of fat assed creatures with no waist who sit around staring at blacked out screens liek, yanno, half nekkid and unwashed.

Man, thats so sad. If I had a oblongated pachyderm-like appendage it'd be liek, rendered flaccid for life now. I'd rather be castrated if it comes to that. But yeah am just saying. And no, I have liek all the bodily components of a female so its okay am alright am whole and complete.

Btw, pls excuse the spelling and grammar and liek if I've offended any oblongated pachyderm-like appendages but please please mah birthday is liek, coming soon, and I want liek, orgasmic bookssss pls. I dont need bday cakes [see fat ass reference above] or surprises [weak heart], nor clothes [I wear mostly my sister's hand me downs and liek, torn jeans and flip flops] or liek husbands [sorry, dudes] but yeah. Books and all that good shit pls.

Anyway, see you guys next weekend k. I've gotta get back to my books and study for tomorrow's paper. Yeah. On a Sunday.

And oh. Pls wash behind your ears k. Its good to blog again. Babais kids.

graceshu  # 7:33 PM
|

 

Thursday, April 01, 2004
BookSlut.Com 
BookSlut.Com is a e-zine on literature, has alot of interesting reads, great stuff for insomaniacs or procrastinators. Its masthead isn't exactly work safe though. No explicit nudity though might seem slightly offensive to some. Via FireMind.Diaryland.Com.

graceshu  # 10:51 AM
|

 

Wednesday, March 31, 2004
Bloggers Lunching @ Saisaki Japanese Buffet Restaurant 
As stated in an entry abt a month ago, book review blog members & various bloggers will be meeting up for a buffet lunch @ Saisaki Japanese Buffet Restaurant.

Time: Noon
Date: 17 April 2004, Saturday
Venue: Saisaki Japanese Buffet Restaurant, Unit 1-9, First Floor, Wisma UOA II, 21 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur MY, 50450
Price: RM 38.50 ++

For more details, go to the wiki page.

graceshu  # 8:34 PM
|

 

Stephen King - The Dead Zone 
If you know someone would do something evil in the future, how far would you go to stop him? Would it stretch to murder?

That was the dilemma facing John Smith in Stephen King’s Dead Zone.

Dead Zone is one of Stephen King’s earlier books but I have only recently picked it up. It was published in 1979 but in 1983 it was made into a movie with some pretty decent actors in it such as Christopher Walken, Tom Skerritt, Colleen Dewhurst and Martin Sheen. Incidentally, Martin Sheen played a crooked politician who was destined to be the President of the United States. I wonder if the producers of West Wing were watching this movie when they decided to cast him as the President!!!

Anyway, John Smith is just another average man (well, with a name like that, he can’t help but be average, can he?) with one marked difference. He is a psychic. He can see the future or the past just by touching a person or an object.

The gift was fully awoken when he revived from a five year coma. He was ridiculed and ostracized. Some people say he was a fake, a charlatan. Others wanted to use his gift but most of the people fear his gift, forcing him to hide himself far from other people.

A chance encounter with a politician, Greg Stillson, during a rally changed his life forever. While shaking hands, John Smith received a premonition. The politician will be the President of the United States one day, and he will cause a disaster of global proportions.

What would you do in this case? Tell someone? Who would believe you when you do not have any evidence?

John Smith brooded and pondered. He watched as Stillson’s star shines brighter and brighter. He watched and hoped that someone, somewhere, will notice Stillson’s potential for evil and do something to stop him.

He waited in vain.

There was no one else. There was only him.

Stillson must be stopped before he plunged the world into disaster. Even at the cost of John Smith’s life.

John Smith died, in the end, in a failed assassination attempt. Stillson did not. He survived.

But John Smith’s prediction did not come to pass. Something has changed. Enough to change the future for the better.

All thanks to the sacrifice of John Smith.

Would you destroy your own life to save the future?
===
Reviewed by Khalilur

graceshu  # 8:28 PM
|

 

Tuesday, March 30, 2004
Pearl S Buck - Letter From Peking 
Writing this time of racial intermarriage, and of how a 1/4 chinese son [Rennie] grows up in Vermont while his american mom [Elizabeth] deals with the absent husband / father being trapped in Peking, Pearl S. Buck writes captivatingly of human emotions and societal habits of both the american and chinese during the communist revolution in the fifties.

My sister got this at a second hand bookshop for RM 2.50 in Penang and I've been rereading it since. Imho she almost equals Han Suyin on modern Chinese and Asian subjects, I loved her other book,The Good Earth, and am looking fwd to discovering more books by this esteemed woman.

graceshu  # 12:12 AM
|