Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Saturday, April 17, 2004
Post-Saisaki Report 
The only dissapointment... HeWhoShallNotBeNamed had the cheek to not turn up!?

Heh.

Whoever it was had better own up....

That aside, everything else was good, in spite of the messed up traffic & confusing elevators. We had japanese jelly stuff, soft shell crabs, (faux) sharkfin soup, all kinds of soups, all kinds of sushi, handrolls, sashimi, some korean? steamboat thingy w udon noodles, wide selection tempura, funny looking sausages, mashed potatoes & gravy that came out of vending machines (!), green tea in tiny cups, etc ;)

After lunch abt 5 of us re-appeared at KLCC's kinokuniya, browsing through the aisles and talking abt fantasy & reality, Good Omens, poems, phillosophy & new age shit, first impressions, visual stimulation, etc. LoL. How boring, you must be thinking, but no hehe it was ekchually quite fun :)

I dont think anyone remembered to take pikchures of the food though. We were too busy enjoying ourselves ;) Thanks to everyone who turned up! And as for those who didn't... tee hee hee. next time k. now if you'll eskuse me.

*BURP*

graceshu  # 7:18 PM
|

 

Mystic River - Dennis Lehane 


Title: Mystic River

Author: Dennis Lehane


Sean Devine, Jimmy Marcus and Dave Boyle are childhood friends. Sean was the quiet one; who always did the thinking. Dave was the "invisible" one. Jimmy was the 'devil' among them. He would always be the one who pulled the dangerous stunts. Till one day, when a car pulled up beside them and took Dave Boyle away. But four days later, Dave Boyle came back. Unhurt, it seems. But things had never been same in the neighbourhood the children lived in. Things were also never been the same between these three kids. And they grew up with the spaces and awkwardness between them.

Sean grew up to be a cop. While Jimmy served his time in prison for break-in jobs he got into. As for Dave, he is still the weird one among them. They also had families of their own. But they were never really in contact till one day when Jimmy's daughter, Katie Marcus was found brutally murdered. And Sean was assigned to track down the killer. The murder had indeed brought them back together again. But this time, on a different platform.

Evidence and tracks keep surfacing. And the plot of the story just escalate at this point that will make you ponder who the killer might be.

Fast moving paced story. This novel had also been turned into Oscar-winning (Actor in a Leading Role played by Sean Penn & Actor in a Supporting Role played by Tim Robbins) movie.

By the way, i'm now into Oscars-nominated books. Heh! Now reading 'Girl with a Pearl Earring' and 'Cold Mountain' is in the queue. Will review them once i'm done.

kiezamy  # 1:34 PM
|

 

Thursday, April 15, 2004
Firefly - You Can't Go Home Again by Bernie Tan 

Publisher: Silverfish Books
Price: RM 25.00
MPH Bookstores

This is the first book I've came across with a 18PG warning after its blurb, but it was the picture on the cover that drew me towards it. A disturbing figure sits crosslegged, naked and hunched, hands gripping its bowed head in frustration. I reached out for it, read the blurb, purchased it, and I havent let it out of my sight since, re-reading excerpts of it when I can.

Bernie Tan, born Mary Bernadette Tan, writes about her harrowing journey through alchoholism (age 14), drugs (age 16-24), eating disorders (age 18), and even being institutionalised at the State Mental Hospital in Tanjung Rambutan (age 20), of her childhood, her dysfunctional family, living on the streets, starvation, eating cockroaches, and launching her brilliant advertising career (age 24), only to face a tragic motor accident which had her crippled in one leg, deaf in one ear, and 70% blind.

Bernie now lives on state welfare in PJ with her dog and six cats, moves around on a bicycle, has since found solace in religion, and does weekly street counselling to drug addicts.

This autobiography is written without frills, extreme drama, neither is it sympathy eliciting nor does it have wince or goosebump inducing corny lines, unlike most of the "oh I was a bad boy before... but now..." kinda story. It draws you into its own world(s) as Bernie lived them. it includes a last chapter, "Diary of A Handicapped Girl & Her Dog Named Junior", which aptly echos the image on the cover, and why "you can't go home again".

A worthy read indeed, although I can't quite figure out why "Parental guidance is advised for readers under 18". Because of its "explicit material"? It quite pales in comparison with tv shows on ASTRO or the gore in computer games these days. What does parental guidance mean anyway? Sitting beside the impressionable kid, holding hands, and saying things like, "Drugs are bad mmmkay?"

Anyway its a good book and I'm going to let my kid brothers read it =P It'll do him much more good than playing RO all night long anyway.

graceshu  # 10:15 PM
|