Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Saturday, May 08, 2004
Jennifer Government, Max Barry 
All in all, I suggest this for all who are looking for something refreshing. Additionally, for those caught in the whole Max Barry hype, by all means. At least this piece of work has that unputdownable factor.

More here.

graceshu  # 8:13 PM
|

 

Friday, May 07, 2004
The Economist Style Guide 
I'm notorious for having Teh Baad Englais Writing Skills and Puan Sim will be very dissapointed with me if she reads my blogs (but thank God, No). But I got a 9/12 for this quiz, So. Yeah. Not exactly at the bottom of the rung, but will probably need alot of work, still.

This is the guide based on the style book which is given to all journalists at The Economist. Very handy indeed.

graceshu  # 3:32 PM
|

 

Breaking The Ice 
graceshu: maybe you'd like to make an introductory entry?

xXx: maybe I should...like

"Hi, I'm the new blogmaster for the BRB. I've killed Grace and dumped her body where no one will be able to find it. All your infantile, pliable minds are now mine to do with as I wish. Resistance is futile. Disobedience will not be tolerated and punishment will be both severe and humiliating. You all no longer have lives."

graceshu: =/

xXx: too friendly? I can make it less friendly if you like

graceshu  # 2:02 PM
|

 

Book Swap Meet IV, May 9th 
So far, six of us will be turning up, among them - Grace Shu, ted, ireneQ, minishorts , ryuu, aLiya, and most probably mr. wingman, sir, as well.

Books up for swapping include - Men Who Play God by A.B.Rotor, American Gods by Neil Gaiman, Wasted by Marya Hornbacher, Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, Wild Swans by Jung Chang, The Christmas Mystery by Jostein Gaarder, Complete Adrian Mole Series (plus the unpublished diaries) by Sue Townsend, Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell, The Bride Stripped Bare by anonymous, Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer, The Penguin Book of Erotic Stories, The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint Exupery, Nice by Jen Sacks, Mary, Bloody Mary by Carolyn Meyer.... among others...

I'll be away today and tomorrow, but shall check my e-mail saturday evening. Do let me know if anyone else intends to show up, I'll send you my contact number. Or just get in touch with one of the swappers here ;)

Have a nice weekend, kids.

graceshu  # 11:01 AM
|

 

Wednesday, May 05, 2004
Er. Anden I Was Like Oh Lookeee Wheeee~! Er. Right. 

You're Lolita!

by Vladimir Nabokov

Considered by most to be depraved and immoral, you are obsessed with sex. What really tantalizes you is that which deviates from societal standards in every way, though you admit that this probably isn't the best and you're not sure what causes this desire. Nonetheless, you've done some pretty nefarious things in your life, and probably gotten caught for them. The names have been changed, but the problems are real. Please stay away from children.


Take the Book Quiz
at the Blue Pyramid.

graceshu  # 11:32 AM
|

 

Monday, May 03, 2004
The Christmas Mystery by Jostein Gaarder 
As with Sophie's World, this book is written in a magical, fantasy-like manner, littered with historical facts and references to Christianity concerning the birth of Christ.

Joachim, a young boy in an unnamed town in Norway, finds a magic Advent calender that unfolds a story of a little girl who travels back through time to the day of Jesus Christ's birth. The little girl, Elisabet stumbles upon several travelling companions, including angels, eastern kings, shepherds, and sheep. Joachim then helps solve the mystery of this other girl whose name was also Elisabet, apparently dissapeared from the same town a few decades back.

It's references to the Bible and the scene of nativity was quite cheesy and at times, quite predictable. The characters of the angels however did provide some comic relief, however lame it might've been. The flow and structure of the story left much to be desired, it was overall quite a dizzy experience.

Still, if you have a few asprins or idle hours to spare, this is still a good read ;)

Look out for this book at the Book Swap Meet, May 9th.

graceshu  # 10:44 AM
|

 

Wild Swans by Jung Chang 
Annie:
I just finished reading Jung Chang's Wild Swans, about three generations of Chinese women (her grandmother, mother and self) . It explains the personal experience , involvement, problems, power struggle endured by these 3 women from the fall of Pui Yi as the last emperor of China to the formation of Manchuria, from the Kuomintang to Chairman Mao's Cultural Revolution.

Meesh:
It is a good book. Sad, but good. I remember most clearly the bit where they tortured/killed the old man that had accidentally ejaculated during a raid or something? It just seemed so heart wrenching.

More here.

graceshu  # 10:39 AM
|

 

Sunday, May 02, 2004
Saisaki Video 
Hi kids. Here's the video from the Saisaki Meet ;)

http://www.yat.ch/lah/eye/archives/000550.html

Thanks Alex!!

graceshu  # 11:30 AM
|