Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Friday, May 28, 2004
The Prophecies of Nostradamus 
Four hundred years ago, Michel de Nostredame sat alone in a dark secret room studying the forbidden books on the occult. By his side stood a bras tripod and placed on that was a simple bowl of water. But the water shimmered and grew cloudy and from within depths came visions of the future.

Nostradamus was bornin 1503, he had a great interest in astrology sicne tender age. He studies medicine and healed many people stricken by the plague which was at that time anendemic in Southern France. After 1550 he produced a yearly Almanac and by 1555 he had completed the first part of his book of Prophecies that were to contain predictions from his time to end of the world.

In order to avoid prosecution as a magacian, Nostradamus writes that he deliberaetly confused the time sequence of Prophecies so that their secret would no be revealed to the non-initiate. Nostradamus dies in 1566.

Nostradamus method was divination not predictions.His major divination wereFrench Revolution(1789), Napoleon and Pius VII, Fates of Children of Catherine de Medici and Henri II, Second World War, Battle of Waterloo (1815), Kennedy Assassinations, Hitler and France, Ayatollah Khomeini, America in Vietnam, Middle East, Shah of Iran, Jewish Influences and the list goes on and on.

His visions were right but a few had missing links in it which latter after much research the blanks were filled in. Some of the visons were not precise and created a cloud on most readers but we have to understand that these are visions.

American in Vietnam is a celar example of his uncertainty of his visons. He could not see who started it but later said it was because of China and the East. He also added that the country on the left side of the map would be the looser.

Well theres has been a lot of controversy over his visons and work but nothing concrete ccould be said to discourage the readers for reading his work.

Reviewed By Daniel Joshua

graceshu  # 11:34 PM
|

 

Thursday, May 27, 2004
Conquer the World Through Reading 
If you didn't know already, there's the KL International Book Fair being held at PWTC from 21st till the 30th of this month.

518 booths have been taken up, and for those of you seeking difficult to buy academic texts, head up to the top level. I just went yesterday and spent more money! But not on fiction-lah. Managed to find several required texts that never seem to be available at bookstores, plus they were going at discounted prices! Teachers and students ought to come here for the latest books (not yet shipped to your local Popular bookstore yet).

There's still 5 more days till the end of this fair. Are you going?

minishorts  # 10:32 AM
|

 

Sunday, May 23, 2004
An E-mail From John Ling 
It was quite a pleasant surprise to receive an e-mail from John Ling [previously blogged abt here] attached with a manuscript of Fourteen Bullets, a collection of his fourteen short stories. It's also available for a short period at Www.JohnLing.Net.
Dear Book Review Blog,

Hello there! My name is John Ling and I am the young Malaysian writer that you posted news on April 22nd. Thank you for highlighting me since I am pretty much unknown among Malaysians.

Anyways, I was doing a search on my name in Google when I came across your site. I must say I'm really impressed. It's very rare indeed to find a group of Malaysians reviewing books. Kudos and I hope you will keep up your effort!

As a token of my appreciation, I have attached the manuscript for my collection of short fiction called 'Fourteen Bullets' for your reviewing pleasure. It features fourteen of my best stories that has appeared in various American and British magazines and anthologies.

For the moment, all the stories in this manuscript are available freely on my website http://www.johnling.net. So, when you do write a review, do post a link to my homepage so that your site visitors may enjoy my stories as well. Think of it as my gift back to this small but dedicated community of Malaysians.

'Fourteen Bullets' is currently under consideration by several American publishers. As soon as I get contracted, I will have to remove my stories from my website. So, this is definitely a time limited opportunity!

Take care and all the best!

Best Wishes
John Ling
The website is pretty informative and also doubles as a blog of sorts. No I'm not getting paid for this =P The color co-ordination could be slightly improved though. I'll make a review when er. I am done reading it as am swamped with stuff to do ;D so. Yeah. Or, you could head over there to read it for yourself, then review it here later ;)

graceshu  # 9:15 PM
|