Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Saturday, June 26, 2004
Ghost Rider: Travels On The Healing Road by Neil Peart's  
Death of a loved one can render you senseless in life. But it's not something we can escape. An unexpected or sudden loss might affect an individual even more adversely.

Kudo, from Sheffield, England, reviews this book of how one man overcame his grief, and finding love again.
i've just finished reading neil peart's ghost rider: travels on the healing road. peart's the drummer for canada's progressive rockers, rush. he's the lyricist (nicknamed the professor due to his prolific lyrics) for rush and is one of the greatest drummers of all time. the book (which is a sophomore effort for peart) is about a tragedy he endured in 1998.

in the space of 10 months in 1998, he lost his only daughter, selena, and later, his wife, jackie.

how does one cope with such personal tragedy, i wondered. he blamed 'a broken heart' for his wife's death even though a diagnosis of cancer was given by her doctors. as a form of therapy, peart chose to take his bmw motorbike and get on the road. a road that went on for 55,000 miles from quebec to belize, via alaska and the west coast of the united states. he called himself the ghost rider, a ghost of a man. nothing but an empty shell with no hope. no meaning to continue on with what is left of his life that he's had with the ones he loved dearly.
Read it here.

graceshu  # 8:56 AM
|

 

Friday, June 25, 2004
Popular 3-day Crazy Deal @ Amcorp Mall 


More reason to sing and dance.

People in Petaling Jaya do have it good.... apart from the TIMES Warehouse Sale, Popular is also having a sale called the '3-Day Crazy Deal' so if you happen to be in the area, drop by at the Concourse Area of the Amcorp Mall, Persiaran Barat, PJ where English books are on sale with rebates up to 70%. The selection is modest, with titles dating 2-3 years back and more (buku lamaaa), save for a few. They do however have the latest Harry Potter book (Harry Potter and the Golden Phoenix) on sale at RM44.95 for a hardcover version.

The sale starts today and will end on Sunday June 27th. Enjoy!

Miss Ted  # 1:37 PM
|

 

Thursday, June 24, 2004
Book Reviews By Sheela On Red FM [104.9 in Klg Valley] 
I love Red FM, especially Ignite [4-7pm] with Jeevan and Wicked [8-10pm] with Terry. And Chris has such a sexy sexxxxay loverly voice!!! ;D

But it was a pleasant surprise to hear book reviews on Red FM's Charge Up [10am-1pm] with Sheela [See Pic On Left].

In her segment, Sheela allocates abt 30 minutes towards the end of her session with brief updates on new arrivals, various promotions and events frm The MPH Bookstore. If I'm not mistaken, there's also a book giveaway from MPH's BookClub for Red FM participants of a regular sms competition during Sheela's segment.

It's all really cool with Red FM, no? ^_^

Egg  # 2:23 PM
|

 

Wednesday, June 23, 2004
The Famous Five Series 
I loved the Famous Fivers, among the other Enid Blytons I read when I was a kid. The other would perhaps be Malory Towers! or the Secret Seven! or that The Faraway Tree where Joe and Beth befriends interesting characters up a majiK tree with names such as Moonface, Silky and the Saucepan Man.

Meh. All this reminiscing. Am old. =/

But at least Daphne agrees with me too.
The Famous Five is my second-favourite of Blyton's adventure series. I love the books mainly for their detailed descriptions of food and certainly not for Julian's bossiness or George going on and on about wanting to be a boy! Dick is the coolest character but what a name!

Every title sees the kids on holiday by themselves, often in some cool location like a castle or island or light house. Once they're all settled in, they see flashing lights or faces in windows or hear something mysterious. It's all very exciting, especially if you're nine, but, I'm 37 and I still like the books so they obviously a good investment.
If you need to get your kid / nephew / niece a gift of some sort, skip the ps2s and handphones! Get them books! =P

[Plus, its cheaper and does not increase the likelyhood of brain cancer =P]

graceshu  # 10:38 PM
|

 

Warehouse Sale - TIMES The Bookshop  
Hi kids. Sing, dance, and rejoice for I bring forth good news!! ^_^

Yes, books are expensive, etc. But pls don't weep anymore my dear child for its a sale [read: weep later when you get the credit card bills]! Hehehe. Um. Have fun ya. But. As always. Pls donate to the needy! ^_^
Source: TIMES The Bookshop is having a warehouse sale, June 24 (for Times Privilege Card holders only), and July 25th to July 4 (Semua Org!!! ^_^), 10am to 7pm daily.

Venue: Kompleks Kemajuan, Jalan 19/1, Petaling Jaya (opposite the Perodua showroom). No. 4, Jalan 13/4, 46200, Petaling Jaya (Fedex office) For more information, please call 03-20959115 or 23829098.

P/S: Needy = Starving [ahem!] undergraduates. etc.
P/P/S: I'm an undergraduate until Oct 2004. Just thought you'd like to know =/

Edit: It seems that there's a venue change. Please take note.

graceshu  # 9:33 PM
|

 

Sunday, June 20, 2004
The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde 

Title: The Well of Lost Plots
Author: Jasper Fforde
His Thursday Next series are a must-read for fun and quick reading.This is his third book in the Thursday Next series, and as usual, completely filled with allusions to literary characters. I highly recommend that you read Jane Eyre, Macbeth, Anna Kareina(is this how you spell it?), Wuthering Heights, and Great Expectations before starting this book. As in the first and second books (The Eyre Affair and Lost in a Good Book), the Well of Lost Plots does not fail to satisfy in the imaginative realm. There are a lot of spoofs to modern-day devices like handphones with footnoterphones, some really cute philosphical questions about God and the Universe, extinct-but-not-yet-extinct-Dodo birds, book-jumping, and many more. Really clever.

However, I found that this book, as compared to the first two has somewhat lost some of its charm and novelty. It seemed rather strained, as if the author was trying too hard to impress us with clever plot devices. But overall, good book for light reading. Just be sure to brush up on your knowledge of books, unlike I who had to do some quick re-reading of Great Expectations and finished Sense and Sensibility in record time. Available in any bookstore.

Elizabeth  # 3:22 PM
|