Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Saturday, July 10, 2004
Of Online Texts - Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf  
'Tis a sad day, it's raining outside, and oh I am going to weep! D;

I was all proud to begin my collection of Virginia Woolf's pieces, and started with Mrs. Dalloway, a worthy purchase, I thought, for RM 32.95 from MPH, and later got a few more from my friendly neighbourhood PayLess shops, and I was like, wheee. oh I shall be cultured and sophistikated soon! etc! like how one is prone to behave after being all charged up with caffeine! ;D

But to my dismay I find today a complete html version of it online! D;
Free Web Books Online @ University of Adelaide Library Welcome to the University of Adelaide Library's collection of Web books. The collection includes more than 700 classic works of Literature, Philosophy, Science, and History. Each work has been carefully formatted for maximum readability either on screen or when printed. Works can be read online, or downloaded for offline reading.
But after sharing this [un]fortunate news with my friend dSaint, he directs me to Darwin's The Origin Of Species and I'm like all confused, should I be giddy with glee, or shall I countinue mourning my poor investment that could've lasted me at least ten california rolls?

Meh.

Buden. Nm. At least can pegang and smell it and drink kapitalist kopi kihkihkih and draw marks with felt-tipped pens and. um. yeah. babais its raining out, and I'm getting back to warm bed and fluffy pillows with my books!

Have a great Saturday! ^_^

graceshu  # 4:36 PM
|

 

Tuesday, July 06, 2004
The Ambassador's Table by Margaret H Dickenson 


from The Ambassador's Table
Blueprints For Creative Entertaining)
Margaret H. Dickenson
As someone who loves food, I can vouch that this book is stuffed with colourful photos of food that's making me very hungry - I'm about to lick the pages.

To dismiss this book as merely a cookbook would be unfair.

Asides from recipes, the early party of the book comes with a Menu section that takes into account dresscode, theme, guest numbers, table settings and more suggestions for different events. There are also tips for cutlery, etiquette, wine selection, ambience and more. Basically a whole slew of entertaining tips.

As the title of the book suggests, the recipes come from all around the world. You'll find some regional or fusion, simple or snooty, rich or light, meat or veggies, sweet or savoury. You get the idea. Something interesting for all occasions.

While the recipes look delicious, be warned that some of the ingredients are not easily obtainable in Malaysia, so you might be stuck with the recipe and beautiful photos of something you'd love to make but can't. It's cruel.

Some recipes my mother has tried out that's pretty good:
p70: Seaweed Chrysanthemums
p75: Salmon Snow Pea Boats
p77: Pancake Sachets
p111: Deluxe Beef Wanton Ravioli
p119: Mango Soup with Kiwi
p125: Mushroom Cappuccino
p131: Pineapple Carrot Salad
p145: Apricot Garlic Chicken with Peppercorn Prawns
p148: Indonesian Sweet Blackened Chicken with Kiwi
p149: Triple Fettucini Experience with Sun Dried Tomatoes and Chicken.
p160: Grilled Marinated Salmon
Note that I did not include any of the desserts because I don't come from a family of dessert lovers. Must admit though - they look yummy.

Also note that although I'm reviewing this book, I couldn't fry an egg to save my life, so I can't vouch for the recipes themselves, just the final product on my dinner table when mummy's done cooking (which have always been good).

What she says though, is that the recipes are alright, but you'd probably not want to attempt making the dishes unless you have some help with the kitchen preparations, which gets tedious.
====
About the reviewer: Pls bug Lainie if you want to sample any of these. She's been grounded and has plenty of time on her hands. But you'd have to travel down to Ipoh, Perak though.

graceshu  # 12:06 AM
|

 

Sunday, July 04, 2004
Report: Book Swap Meet V 
Four others couldn't make it, so it was graceshu, Ryuu, Irene, mr. xXx, and Shawn.

Swapped books, discussed books, got high on caffeine, chatted abt alot of random stuff I don't remember half of 'em, smacked heads, discussed blog personalities, talked about bikes / biker culture, school, work, shared stories from forum.drliew.net, more coffee, talked of mutual friends... and erm... Etcetera! Soz. I don't remember anymore. Was fun though :)

I should probably head to bed for some rest, my new [and final] semester starts tomorrow, and have loads to do, to plan etc. Usual stuff. Heh. I won't bore you with them :)

Goodbye kids.

graceshu  # 9:32 PM
|

 

20% Discount on Sandman Graphic Novels at Kino  
Source: BerukBoy
Kino KLCC is offering a 20% discount on all Sandman graphic novels provided you buy another book. And yes, you can get the discount on one Sandman graphic novel by buying another Sandman graphic novel and get a discount on that graphic novel as well. Total no-brainer.

At Kino, the graphic novels are super cheap already (RM62.25) and after the discount it's MEGA cheap (RM49.25)! For those of you not in the Klang Valley area, click here to order the books online. Since they don't list the discount on the website you might have to write them or call Kino at 03-2164-8133.

graceshu  # 9:27 PM
|