Welcome!
The Book Review Blog - book reviews written by bloggers - comics, journals, novels, handbooks, dictionaries, any genre, anything. Join us!

Book Swap Meet
Interested in swapping books? Meeting reviewers? Drink coffee? Details located here and here. If you need any help, email us!

Contributors
@ * + ash
@ + bee b
@ + daniel joshua
@ + enia
@ + eyeris
@ + ferith
@ + fooji
@ * + graceshu
@ * + hani
@ + jenn
@ + irene
@ + ivan
@ + julianne
@ + kherying
@ + firefirefly
@ + meesh
@ * + minishorts
@ + raZZbeRRy
@ + rach
@ + steph t
@ + strizzt
@ + syarfina
@ + sixthseal
@ + t-boy
@ + vlad
@ * + wena

Blogs On Books
+ BicaraKu
+ BookGobbler
+ Daphne
+ Nizam Zakaria

Ebook Software
+Adobe Acrobat
+Palm Reader
+Mobipocket
+Microsoft Reader

Places to find Ebooks
+Simon & Schuster
+Palm Digital Media
+Fictionwise
+Mobipocket
+Knowbetter Lending Library
+Project Gutenberg

Other Links
+blogwise
+blogger
+haloscan
+sitemeter
+pps

Archives
31.08.03   07.09.03   14.09.03   21.09.03   28.09.03   05.10.03   12.10.03   19.10.03   26.10.03   02.11.03   09.11.03   16.11.03   23.11.03   30.11.03   07.12.03   14.12.03   21.12.03   28.12.03   04.01.04   11.01.04   18.01.04   25.01.04   01.02.04   08.02.04   15.02.04   22.02.04   29.02.04   07.03.04   21.03.04   28.03.04   04.04.04   11.04.04   18.04.04   25.04.04   02.05.04   09.05.04   16.05.04   23.05.04   30.05.04   06.06.04   13.06.04   20.06.04   27.06.04   04.07.04   11.07.04   18.07.04   25.07.04   01.08.04   08.08.04   29.08.04   05.09.04   12.09.04   19.09.04   26.09.04   03.10.04   17.10.04   24.10.04   31.10.04   07.11.04   14.11.04   21.11.04   28.11.04   05.12.04   12.12.04   19.12.04   02.01.05   09.01.05   23.01.05   30.01.05   13.02.05   20.02.05   24.04.05   01.05.05   15.05.05   29.05.05   05.06.05   12.06.05   19.06.05   26.06.05   17.07.05   24.07.05   31.07.05   07.08.05   14.08.05   21.08.05   28.08.05   11.09.05   18.09.05   02.10.05   09.10.05   06.11.05   13.08.06   19.08.07  

Stats

RSS Feed powered by RSSify at WCC

Atom Feed

 
Wednesday, July 28, 2004
Of Lewis Carroll, and The Literature Network 
The Walrus And The Carpenter by Lewis Carroll
"If seven maids with seven mops
Swept it for half a year.
Do you suppose," the Walrus said,
"That they could get it clear?"
"I doubt it," said the Carpenter,
And shed a bitter tear.

[Also see: Complete Works Of Lewis Carroll]

While scouring the Internet [thankyou Al Gore!] for a complete version of the above poem, I stumbled upon a useful literature resource that I thought would be worth sharing.
Welcome to The Literature Network. We offer searchable online literature for the student, educator, or enthusiast. To find the work you're looking for start by looking through the author index. We currently have over 300 full books and over 1000 short stories and poems by over 90 authors. Our quotations database has over 8500 quotes.

Have a question about literature? Why not ask it in our brand new Literature Forums.
There's an impressive list of writers, a brief history of their life, and some of their more notable works. This includes short stories, poems and novels, though mostly classics. It also has a repository of over 8000 passages, phrases, and proverbs traced to their sources in ancient and modern literature, as well as an entire section dedicated to Sir William Shakespeare.

The Literature Network is also cross referenced with related links, and quite interactive, has sections in their texts where readers can submit their comments and reviews and share their experiences and recommendations after reading the said literature.

Several online texts here worth mentioning are Sun Tzu's The Art of War, Geofrey Chaucer's The Canterbury Tales, then there's John Keats, Sophocles, aiyah, the usual suspects lah, and even Agatha Christie.

Has the usual Google Ads, but thank God no irritating popup ads.

Quite worth book marking indeed.

graceshu  # 9:16 PM
|

 

Government In Favour Of Reducing Book Prices 
I just came across a writeup in the star online about plans the National Library has of conducting a survey on reading habits of Malaysians. Here's something that caught my eye, which I'm sure plenty other poor and starving literary enthusiasts [read: book worms / nerds] would be excited over as well.
On Monday, Deputy Education Minister Datuk Dr Mahadzir Mohd Khir said the Government was in favour of reducing book prices to encourage more people to read.

"We are thinking of speaking to publishers and booksellers to lower prices, especially of imported books," he told reporters after a meeting with five other ministries on this matter at the library.

The other ministries were Higher Education, Culture, Arts and Heritage, Housing and Local Government, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs, and Information.
Toes are, as usual, trembling in anticipation. Hope its not just all flatulent talk, and am not raising my expectations for nothing, my adrenaline could be used for much better stuff [eg. statistics lessons] after having had only four hours of sleep.

graceshu  # 10:08 AM
|